Sunday, November 8, 2015

Book Roundup - 10 Books About Books

The first in my new "roundup" series is entitled Books About Books. This series is exactly what it sounds like. I will gather, in a rodeo roundup kind of way, since I'm a Texan and all, a group of books that have a similar theme, genre, or some topic of my choosing and share this list with you. Many of the books I will have read, some I may have not, and others may be on my "to read" list. This is all very "librarian" of me, you know, to gather books for you and put them in a list. So I'm sure I will enjoy it very much. I hope you will too.

10 Books about Books (How Meta!)

Lately I’ve noticed how many books about books I’ve read. I suppose it’s no wonder since authors must know that they have a built in audience when the topic is books. Here are some of my favorites, along with a few others to tempt you.

Five I've Read:

This Alex award winning book is one of my all-time favorites. It combines an old bookstore full of ancient, code-filled words with the modern technology of Google. This book easily won my heart by combining my twin passions of books and technology. 

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
This one evokes my lifelong love of small, independent bookstores. It's a heartwarming story of how a curmudgeon is slowly brought back to life by two unexpected deliveries. The characters and the bookstore itself will sneak their way into your heart and make a home for life.

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan
This is also about a bookstore, although not an old comfy one, but rather a new-fangled version of a bookstore. The main character goes to work for a company with a leader who who attempts to open a bookstore to sell e-books. For real. I enjoyed this wry, laugh out loud story.

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Just in time for the holiday season, I bring you a snow-filled delightful book with witty characters and an independent bookstore. While perusing his favorite bookstore, Dash finds a journal with a dare written inside. He follows the instructions and then leaves the journal with the clerk. Later, Lily retrieves the journal and follows the instructions left by Dash. The instructions are dares that increase into bigger and bigger stretches for each of them. 

Disclaimer by Renee Knight
What if you started reading a book and realized it was about you? And it began divulging secrets about your life that you didn't want revealed - because, naturally, as secrets do, they would destroy your life. That's what this story is about. It's a mind trip, for sure (and not for young readers). If you read it, let's chat about the ending, okay?

Five I Plan to Read:

The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald
Synopsis : When Florence Green opens a bookshop in a sleepy seaside town she is met with open resistance by her neighbors who resent her success. 
This is an oldie from 1978 that I just discovered. The 1959 English setting intrigues me. Also, I wonder what bookshops were like in 1959?

The Secret of Happy Ever After by Lucy Dillon
Okay, first of all, the cover. Right? I'm a sucker for a cute dog cover. 
But if you still need a synopsis : Michelle doesn’t believe in fairy tales. She’s a hard-headed businesswoman, making a fresh start in a new town. And when she decides to take over a neglected book shop, she knows the perfect manager. For book-loving Anna, it’s a dream come true—and not just because it gives her an escape from her three demanding step-children and their adorable but hyperactive Dalmatian. Although she’s been thinking that her own fairytale ending hasn’t really turned out the way she hoped, Anna’s passion for the classics is transforming the shop. The customers, and even Michelle, are falling under the spell of the magical stories of romance, adventure, and lost dogs. 
Ex-libris by Ross King
Synopsis : Isaac Inchbold, a bookseller and antiquarian in seventeenth-century London, becomes caught up in a treacherous game of underworld spies and smugglers, ciphers and forgeries when he embarks on a quest to recover a missing manuscript.
Sounds intriguing, right?

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler
Synopsis : Simon Watson, a young librarian receives a mysterious package from an antiquarian bookseller. The book tells the story of Amos and Evangeline, doomed lovers who lived and worked in a traveling circus more than two hundred years ago. Why does his grandmother's name, Verona Bonn, appear in this book? 
A librarian, and a mysterious antique book? "Nuff said!

White Space by Ilsa J. Bick
Synopsis : In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Bonus Ten: Books that Sound Great that I May or May Not Read at some point...

The Book Thief by by Markus Zusak
Among Others by Jo Walton
The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Allison Hoover Bartlett
The Haunted Bookshop by Christopher Morley
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron
Between the Lines & Off the Page Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer (mother & daughter author duo)
Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton
The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls by Julie Schumacher
Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld (love him & this is supposed to be awesome!)
The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

Please let share your opinions on my choices and/or feel free to suggest more books about books!

Happy Reading!